Everyday Feminist

Feminist Music Time!

Posted by PoliticsWTF on April 8, 2008

A slightly lighter topic that the one I discussed earlier. I’ve come up with a few (drop in the ocean type thing here) cool feminist musicians which I’m suggesting as an alternative to some of the mainstream music (and music videos) which most of us are exposed to on a daily basis. I saw Nicole Scherzinger’s video over at The Egalitarian Bookworm and I have to agree with poster, fellow-ette, that this video kinda glorifies rape. Also, I think I might have to scream for eternity if I hear Flo-Rida’s Low song AGAIN: “Work the pole, I got the bank roll/Imma say that I prefer them no clothes/I’m into that, I love women exposed”. So here are my alternatives (please comment with any others): 

  • My personal favourite feminist musician is Ani DiFranco. Sorry to be boring, but the woman kicks ass. I reckon, from a feminist POV ‘Not A Pretty Girl’ has gotta be her best song.
  • A cool song which I’m sure loads of you have heard is ‘Mother of Pearl’ by Nellie MacKay. It’s got some great lines, including the sarcastic- type refrain “Feminists don’t have a sense of humour.” 
  • Indigo Girls, especially ‘Closer To Fine’….
  • and Melissa Etheridge are pretty cool artists.
  • Dar Williams deserves a mention.
  • As does Joan Jett.
  • Yo Majesty! are a duo based in Florida who are showing the chauvinists how its done in hip-hop.
  • Obviously there’s a ton of riot grrrls: 7 Year Bitch, Sleater-kinney, Veruca Salt, Team Dresch, ***Bikini Kill*** etc., etc. and Kim Gordon should totally get a mention.
  • Finally, you have to love Eurythmics and Aretha Franklin for giving us ‘sisters are doin’ it for themselves’!
Leave a Reply

 
