Everyday Feminist

White Privilege

Posted by PoliticsWTF on April 7, 2008

Okay, so recently I’ve have been investigating the idea of white privilege. It was only when I read the chapter ‘A Quick Academic Aside’ in ‘Full Frontal Feminism’ by Jessica Valenti of Feministing (love Feministing too much for words :D) and reading this piece by Jessica Hoffmann (which I found linked on Feministe) that I started to question white privilege. Hoffmann criticises white feminism and says that it doesn’t take into account the issues of women of colour. I think it is really important for us to ensure that all women are equal, not just women of a particular race, so I’ve started educating myself on these issues.

Sorry if I am trying to educate people on things they already know but the fact that I did not know about these issues makes me wonder how many other people don’t know about them. I’ve picked up a few links in the past few days which I’ll share in case you want to find out more:

If anyone has any other links at would be great to add them in the comments. 

Leave a Reply

 
